List of 8 Countries That Ban Using Twitter Before Nigeria

 List of 8 Country That Ban Using Twitter Before Nigeria
Twitter ban

The issue of banning a Twitter is not just started today is a long story, it has happened in different countries before Nigeria.

Here’s the list of 8 Country That Ban Using Twitter Before Nigeria

Turkey blocked access to Twitter in March 2014 in the run-up to local elections. The move was reportedly carried out to stem a stream of leaked wiretapped recordings of senior officials that had appeared on the site, prompting then Prime Minister Tayyip Erdogan to say he would “root out” the network.
Turkey lifted the ban on Twitter after the social networking site complied with its request to remove photographs of a slain Istanbul prosecutor.
The decision caused a public uproar and drew heavy international criticism.
Twitter said the government of Turkey since 2017 accounted for more than 52 per cent of all content removal requests worldwide.
In 2009, China blocked Twitter temporarily. The move was imposed after a “small group of China’s Muslim ethnic minority used the site to exchange information which resulted in deadly riots in Xinjiang.”
After the ban, many Chinese opted to use Twitter via VPN. Twitter was officially blocked alongside Facebook, Google+ and Foursquare.
Egyptians had no access to Twitter on January 25, 2011 during the 2011 Egyptian protests. On January 27, various reports claimed that access to the entire Internet from within Egypt had been shut down. However, on February 2, 2011, connectivity was re-established by the four main Egyptian service providers.
In 2016, Egypt cut off internet sites such as Twitter and Facebook as the government tried to prevent social media from being used to foment unrest.
Twitter was blocked in Iran in 2009 after a contentious presidential election. During the period, only Iranian President Hassan Rouhani was not prevented from owning a Twitter account.
About two million Iranians access Twitter using VPNs, and Twitter was integral in galvanizing support for Iran’s 2010 Green Revolution.
North Korea
North Korea officially announced it was blocking Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and South Korean websites in a bid to further control access to outside information in 2013.
The government announced it was blocking the aforesaid platforms “for a certain period of time.” It also said gambling and “sex and adult websites” had been blocked. In 2010 the government surprised the world by reportedly starting its own Twitter account. South Korea, in response, blocked the account from its own borders.
Accessing Twitter without the government’s permission is a punishable offence. This applies to both citizens and foreigners.
Saudi Arabia
In 2013, the Saudi Arabian government blocked Twitter when it conducted an “experiment “. The app was an important tool for criticising the government. It also censors individual social media pages, blocks accounts of political activists, and curbs freedom of expression by using tweets as grounds for charges like defamation and blasphemy.
Foreign news and opposition websites have been blocked in Turkmenistan since 2018. Social networks like Twitter are usually described as “often inaccessible”.
In 2007, the UAE blocked Twitter, meaning anyone in the UAE who went to the site was welcomed with the following message:
“We apologize, the site you are attempting to visit has been blocked due to its content being inconsistent with the religious, cultural, political and moral values of the United Arab Emirates.” But Twitter has since been available in the country.
Agajahub publishers

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top