List of Universities in Algeria

List of Universities in Algeria

 Algeria is home to many universities, both public and private. The country’s higher education system comprises four main levels: general (baccalauréat), technical (licence), vocational (brevet) and university.

The general baccalaureat is a uniform high school diploma. It certifies the holders’ competence in all sciences except for physics and mathematics, which must be passed on separately. The technical brevet enables students to train in a specific field of knowledge and prepare them for jobs requiring specific skills. The vocational brevet is a certificate issued by the National Office of Vocational Training that allows students to train in one of 16 fields, as well as prepare them for jobs requiring specific skills.

The University of Algiers is the oldest university in North Africa, founded in 1848 by decree of Muhammad al-Mahdi as al-Khalifa University, after the conquest of Algeria by France. The university currently has seven faculties: Arts & Humanities; Engineering Sciences; Law & Economics; Medicine & Pharmacy; Science & Technology; Social Sciences & Philosophy; Veterinary Medicine & Animal Science

List of universities in Algeria

University of Algiers

  • University of Constantine I
  • University of Constantine II
  • University of El Bayadh
  • University of El Mediterraniene
  • University of Fes-Sahel
  • University of Ghar El Melh
  • University of Ghardaia (Gouvée)
  • Institut National des Sciences Appliquées (INSA)
  • Institut National Polytechnique d’Alger (INPAL)
  • Institut Universitaire de Technologie de Constantine (IUTC)

Related Topic

Algeria is a country in the Maghreb region of North Africa. It has a population of over 35 million people and is the largest country in Africa and the Arab world, with more than 250 ethnic groups. Algeria is bordered by Libya to the north, Tunisia to the east, Morocco to the south and Mauritania to the west.

The name Algeria comes from Arabic al-Jazā’ir (الجزائر), which means “the land of dates”. It was originally named as such due to its rich agriculture and fertile lands that attracted Phoenician settlers. The current name derives from Latin Africa, after which it was predominantly called in Classical antiquity by Greeks and Romans.

Algeria has been inhabited since prehistoric times. Neolithic remains have been found in Tell El Harcha, Biskra, Meroe and elsewhere; archaeological remains are mainly from the Chalcolithic Age (5000 BC – 4500 BC) such as those found at Aït-Benhaddou, Adrar (Adrar Bous), Tadrart Acacus (Tadrart-Amblès), Aït M’hamed, Guelma and Tebessa (Tébessa).

Algeria is a country in North Africa, with a population of over 33 million people. It was the first French colony in Africa and has been independent since 1962. Algeria is divided into 18 wilayats or governorates, each administered by an amir (governor).

Algeria’s universities offer a variety of undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in a wide range of subjects and disciplines. Algeria’s higher education system consists of public universities as well as private institutions. The majority of Algerians are educated at public universities, which are run by the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research.

The University of Algiers (UAL) was founded in 1963 as the first university in Algeria. It’s one of the most prestigious universities in North Africa, with over 56,000 students on its campus.

Agajahub publishers

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top